WA Finalist for Godolphin Awards

Mungrup Stud manager Stephanie Mitchell has been named as one of the finalists for the 2019 Godolphin Stud & Stable Staff Awards.

Mitchell was nominated in the Dedication to Breeding division for the fifth annual GSSSA and is one of 14 finalists in 7 different categories.  They are members of the largely unseen and unheralded sections of Australia’s thoroughbred racing and breeding industry.

Yarradale Stud manager Bernie Hamill won the GSSSA Dedication to Breeding in 2015.

Michell has been working at Mungrup Stud for over 10 years and, in that time, has risen from a part-timer to managing the stud’s broodmares, matings and pregnancy tests and yearling preps.

Her passion for social justice and the development of young people in sport was also acknowledged by the local community when she was named Albany’s Young Citizen of the Year in 2018.

South Australian chief steward Johan Petzer is Chairman of the judging panel and is a big supporter of the awards.  “The GSSSA is not only a fantastic initiative supported by Godolphin, Racing Australia and Thoroughbred Breeders Australia, but it provides great encouragement and opportunity for our participants.

“It rewards the talent, dedication and commitment of those in our vibrant racing and breeding industry.”

The judging panel was again impressed with the outstanding quality of the nominations received this year.  “There is no doubt about the quality of the nominees for 2019,” Petzer said.  “It makes the task of determining the winners a difficult one for the judging panel.”

The Stud and Stable Staff Awards are sponsored by Godolphin in Australia, the UK, Ireland, France and USA and are staged in Australia by Racing Australia and Thoroughbred Breeders Australia.

The awards offer cash and trophies to both the winners and runners-up in seven categories with the winner of the Newcomer award also receiving a trip to Dubai.

One of the winners is also chosen for an overall Thoroughbred Excellence Award.

The finalists are:

Leadership – Simon Johnson (Godolphin) & David White (Vinery Stud);

Horsemanship – Warren Sutton (McEvoy Mitchell Racing) & Nigel Bentley (Arrowfield Stud);

Dedication to Breeding – Stephanie Mitchell (Mungrup Stud) & David Merrick (Widden Stud);

ATC Dedication to Racing – Michael Shepherdson (McEvoy Mitchell Racing) & Steve Adams (Anthony Freedman Racing);

MRC Foundation Administration and Ancillary – Cecilia O’Gorman (TBA) & Susan Willis (Yulong Investments);

TABCORP Thoroughbred Care and Welfare – Fiona McIntyre (Fiona McIntrye Equine) & Lindy Thewlis (Self Employed);

Newcomer – Alyssa Pickles (Kitchwin Hills Stud) and Talia Cranfield (Godolphin).

The winners will be announced at an award ceremony at Randwick on September 6.

Stephanie Mitchell (far left) with the Mungrup team at the 2019 Perth Magic Millions